Nm 16a

WIWhitetailer

Hey guys newbie here so be easy, enjoy reading your posts and I am trying to
absorb any and all western hunting information that's available. I leave for 16A
the 16th to hunt the 19th.

So here's my dilema, I have only hunted elk 3 times and been fortunate enough
to kill a spike and two 6x6's about 280-290 with bow. What should I hold out for
the first 4 days? I come to the conclusion that if I don't kill a bull the first 4 days
the last two days I would take anything over 300 if I get that opportunity. I would be
happy with a 320 bull but would hate to shoot a bull this size the first day and not
at least give myself a chance at a real keeper. Am I being realistic to let a 320 bull
walk the first 4 days or crazy? Interested to hear opinions of some hunters who
have hunted the Gila. I'm not afraid to eat tag soup but my elk hunting opportunities
have been few and far between and would sure like to bring one home.

I had 16A in 2008, for the same season you have. Moisture can make a difference, but I would not pass a 320 bull. That is a big bull.

If you are comfortable going home with your tag in your pocket, then that is a different story. Hold out for the one the fits your desires.

You have six days to hunt. Most hunters will not see a true 350 in those six days. We had three tags and none of us saw a bull of that size. They are there, for sure, but it takes some luck to be chasing a bugle that is made by a whopper like that.

One thing for sure, no matter what you hold out for, or no matter what you hang your tag on, 16A has got to be one of the funnest elk hunts in North America.

Good luck.

Good advice from Big Fin there. Everyone wants to kill a big bull, but a lot of us can't even tell the difference between a 320 and 350 bull on the hoof in the heat of the moment.

Look at the photos on this link for the difference between 320 and 350. A 320 bull is a pretty nice bull.
http://onyourownadventures.com/hunttalk/showthread.php?t=243799