Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

MT Public Land Muley

dwhite0622

I have been telling myself for a few years that I would commit to finding a mature mule deer and dedicate my entire rifle season to the pursuit regardless of whether i still had an elk tag in my pocket. I decided last spring that this would be the year of the deer. I was fortunate enough to fill my elk and antelope tags early in the season, so by the time rifle opened i truly had no distractions to keep me from chasing muleys.

I had a few spots picked out and after a few days of scouting and spending hours behind the glass, I managed to find a buck that I thought was a mature deer and a great representation of a mountain muley. In true mule deer form, i spotted him in the worst spot imaginable. He was living in an avalanche chute amongst a series of high country basins with limited access points...... in a burn area (of course he was). I watched him for almost two weeks, spotting him 5 different times all within a few hundred yards of where I saw him first. I spent hours looking for a better route into his living room. As much as i was hoping google earth would reveal a secret stairway, my searches proved that the only way to him was straight down 2,000 ft through deadfall and scrub brush, and back up another 2200 ft through the same terrain to where I had been watching this deer for the last two weeks.