Mountain Goat Gear Help?

trouthunterdj

Hello all,

I am going to hunting in the Crazies this fall. I am looking for some suggestions on gear. I need quality rain gear and a trekking pole.

I am going in on horseback in early Sept to scout/hunt, what would be a good set of rainwear for this time? Also, I know a trekking pole would be handy and I would like suggestions as well.

Thanks,

ddj

I have really fallen in love with the Chugach rain gear from Kuiu. Built very well and the cut is correct.

I have been happy with the Chugach Rainwear from KUIU. It is Expensive but it is an improvement over my Rain Suede from Cabelas. This close to season, it may be out of stock.

I have no Experience with the other premium hunting brands (Sitka, Russell, Etc.)

Can't help on the trekking poles...

I prefer the adjustable poles from K2 or Black Diamond. Most come with powder baskets, which may come in handy if you're hunting late in the season and we get a couple early storms. Some of the K2 models are marked for assessing slope angle and avalanche run-out distances in the event we have a fall like we did in 2010.

I've got Patagonia gear. It works great, but isn't made from the quietest material in the world.

I use Leki Makalu Summit Anti-Shock poles, and have really liked them the last few years. They are great for hiking into and out of an area but not for hunting. The reason/downfall being, they are anti-shock and make too much noise for use in hunting. Other than that, great poles.

http://www.leki.com/

Water bladder and trekking pole...