Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

looking for great public land bull

jlturner

I have never hunted elk on public land. I have been hunting Mule deer for the past several years in New Mexico on public hunting lands. Can anyone reccomend a good place to start.
Thanks so much for your time.

Honestly JL, as BigFin mentioned in the latest RMEF issue, good bulls + good amounts of public land = high draw odds.

The best you can do otherwise is look at the record books for entries, and then look at state regs for general hunts in those areas. By the time you eliminate the elk country that doesn't fall into those two categories, you will have about as good of an idea about what units to hunt as anybody. By the nature of general tag, public land hunting, the areas you are led to will will be rugged, remote, and have minimal motorized access.

The next step in the formula (other than the hunting part) is the toughest, and it consists of narrowing down the places you've found into a few areas to try. You'll need a little bit of elk knowledge to do this, but once you have an idea of the kind of feed and cover elk like, you can just about bet there is a good bull somewhere in the area. Then the real work begins...

Get on Google earth, find the steepest, nastiest, darkest hole that has water and feed. Make sure it is inaccessible by a normal human. Thats a good place to start.

Honestly JL, as BigFin mentioned in the latest RMEF issue, good bulls + good amounts of public land = high draw odds.

The best you can do otherwise is look at the record books for entries, and then look at state regs for general hunts in those areas. By the time you eliminate the elk country that doesn't fall into those two categories, you will have about as good of an idea about what units to hunt as anybody. By the nature of general tag, public land hunting, the areas you are led to will will be rugged, remote, and have minimal motorized access.