Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Kansas on my own public land Mule deer

Southwind

As a Ks resident I am able to get an either species tag about every other year so I will hunt Whitetail in SE Kansas one year and then Mule deer in NW Kansas the next.

I have a small amount of private land to hunt but like to explore the WIHA (walk in hunt areas). I had started scouting that first weekend in November when the majority of the WIHA's open up and checked out 17 different areas logged about 12 miles seeing what I could find. I note on my atlas where I saw deer and a short description of the ground to help me remember what was where. I also then had two weekends of pheasant hunting out there and was able to spot more locations and areas where I found deer so when I left my house at 2 am to make the 4 hour drive my first morning I had 8 good areas where I knew there were deer. I didn't single out any single animal I am always just looking for a mature good representative of the of the animal and if I like what I see I pursue.

I had planned on hunting four days and started my first day on the private land I had to hunt on. My thought was to start there every day and finish there and in between check out one or two of the other locations of WIHA.

It was a crisp morning of 14 degrees and luckily it was a rare light wind day which made the sit tolerable. As the sky warmed in the east still 20 minutes before legal shooting I spotted several whitetail silhouetted on the horizon but by legal light there was nothing to be found. This is a great spot and there is a nice herd of mule deer that work this area but this morning they just were not around. After a good couple of hours I needed to get up and shake a little cold off and went to the truck and headed to check out some walk in.