If I draw an 8 point antelope unit in Wyoming this year, will I ever draw that unit again in my lifetime?

thusby

I've been thinking about this year's upcoming Wyoming antelope draw. I've been chasing a semi-premium unit for about 3 years now and I believe I have a really good chance of drawing out on it this year. When my 8 points are gone and I am back at the bottom of the barrel it will take a very long time, if ever, for me to catch up to the preference point draw (+creep). I will probably have a 1 in 20-25ish chance of capturing it in the random, unless the pool gets larger.

I believe I have about 25 years left of good hunting in my bones. Is this really it or do you think demand will level out enough in the next 15 years that I may draw that same unit again?

I have 8 as well that I am thinking about burning this next year. I would say make the most of this one, and then shoot for units that have lower number of points to draw...and just enjoy more hunts. There is antelope in all the units.

Depends; add up the number of apps, tags, do some arithmetic and you'll have a decent idea. You can get the point only report and estimate how many might jump in from the sidelines too.

Creep has been killing us. We’re back up to 6, not on purpose. Have applied twice over that span expecting “sure things” from prior year draw odds.

This last year had 5 going in for a unit that has NEVER required more than 3.3. It jumped almost 3 points. Almost felt overqualified. Sorely mistaken! Then I look at some of the fancy trophy units in central WY that went down 2 points :(