Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Hunting w/ A Friend Rules?

LandDiver

I was wondering what are some of the basic rules you guys follow when you hunt with friends?

For example who shoots first? Is a simple rock, paper, scissors game enough to settle that question?

When does the other person have a chance to shoot? After the first person either misses, or connects? Switch every other day or something?

Say only 1 animal was able to be get a ride home between the two of you, is the meat split between the two hunters, or no?

Sorry for these questions. I have a friend who wants to come up from Texas and try for an archery elk this next September. Being that I am completely new to hunting and I don't know what the rules are ha ha. He's done guided rifle hunts for deer down in TX before, but never archery.

Thanks!

Here's how my brother and I do it:

- We're big cribbage players...so the night before we play as many games as time allows. Whoever wins the series, gets the first opportunity.
- As far as when the other person shoots, I can't help you there. We just say "this is your buck, let's get him" and then that person goes and tries to take him down.
- Once you have an opportunity, we switch to the next person. Example: I just put a stalk on a buck, I don't get a shot, now it's my brothers turn on the next one.
- If we only harvest one animal, we split the meat 75/25. 75 to the shooter, 25 to the helper.

This.

Especially if I am "hosting" the other hunter. Or they are a kid, or they have never killed the specie, etc...

agree with this. I haven't shot as many animals as I would like, but I would rather someone else get one than me. If its with a regular hunting buddy, we usually switch when the other is tired. Most of the time we already have a game plan or we are not hunting side by side.