Guided vs diy

Busyfarmin

I never thought I would consider going on a guided hunt until last week when I drew a archery elk tag for the Gila National Forest. Given the circumstance that this might be one of the best tags I ever draw I want to make the most of it.
I have been pretty successful hunting out west diy but I have very little experience hunting elk. I have only honestly spent about 5 hours elk hunting and that was on a late hunt in Arizona where I got a pretty good 6x6 but was due to luck and didn't learn alot besides that my e scouting plan worked very well.
My question is which of these options do you think would be best for someone with no archery elk experience with what I supposed to be a really good tag?
1. Go diy and hopefully making a scouting trip in August to get a familiar with the area and maybe set a few cameras out. Then spend as much time hunting as possible. I am pretty confident in my hunting abilities.
2. Hire a guide and try to learn as much as possible for future hunts.

I'm sure it will be a fun hunt either way and can't wait for it to be September.

I never thought I would consider going on a guided hunt until last week when I drew a archery elk tag for the Gila National Forest. Given the circumstance that this might be one of the best tags I ever draw I want to make the most of it.
I have been pretty successful hunting out west diy but I have very little experience hunting elk. I have only honestly spent about 5 hours elk hunting and that was on a late hunt in Arizona where I got a pretty good 6x6 but was due to luck and didn't learn alot besides that my e scouting plan worked very well.
My question is which of these options do you think would be best for someone with no archery elk experience with what I supposed to be a really good tag?