GPS Revisited for 2010

drthornton

I am gathering gear for an Elk hunt this year and wanted any fresh ideas on a handheld mapping GPS unit. I know this topic has been covered but since we are talking about electronics (prices and technology changes almost daily) it seems ther might be a need for a fresh look.

I am new to their use but from what I can tell, having a color mapping GPS is really handy and not too hard on the pocketbook nowadays. Since this is my first back country hunt I have quite a long list of gear to acquire and looking to save money but not sacrifice quality when ever I can.

From the research I have gathered it seems like Garmin is the industry leader and has good quality products.

Here are my current list of choices in order:
1. Garmin Vista HCx...can be had on ebay for $170
2. Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx...around $300
3. Garmin Rino 530 HCx...around $400 (has 2 way radio and NOAA don't know if it's worth it to pay the extra to have them in 1 unit)

Thoughts or any other models that would fit my needs and budget

Thanks

Bought the Garmin 530hcx this year, and to be honest, really didn't think I would use it as much as I do. One of the greatest features is being able to see where your buddy is on the map. He shoots something and radio's you that he could use a hand, you can head straight to him, also will track your buddy as well. One thing I would definitely recommend for them is the 1:24K topo maps that Garmin sells, excellent detail and will show you things you didn't know were there, old roads and trails and such. Having the radio GPS combo makes it very nice and handy.

Might want to hold out for the DeLorme PN-60. Hope to have one in my hand to experiment with very soon and do some test driving.

All reports are it is very good, whether you get it with, or without the SPOT system. The price is great, and the map feature is a "can't live without item." I think Garmin will have to pay attention to this one.