MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Good luck

DHaffner

I thought I better introduce myself since I'm new on this forum. My first love for hunting developed decoying waterfowl...

P9281560.jpg

2010pictures064.jpg

but as I've improved my ability to fool birds, I've been spending more and more time looking for other challenges.

I've lucked out and been able to harvest some deer and pronghorns but I'll have to admit I'm a newbie to Elk...

PA011024.jpg

PB070168.jpg

My only successful draw on an elk tag has been a very low success rate late november archery hunt in Custer State Park, SD. I had an amazing time and could have filled on several cows...

PB230224.jpg

but I held out for a bull and unfortunatley was busted at 100yds by a brute on my best opportunity.

I just wanted to wish everyone good luck on the 2011 Wyoming draw!

Wow, if you get the hang of elk hunting the way you have it figured out on the waterfowl, the wapiti could be in big trouble. Welcome.

Thanks, I'm really lucky, we have world class bird hunting in SD, and some pretty good Big game hunting. Although, the oportunity on elk is very limited... I guess that just adds to the challenge!

Thanks guys, I live in Sioux Falls. I wish I could claim that is a SD goat, but I had to head over to Wyoming to find him. My brother got back from a tour of duty that took him to Iraq and Afghanistan and he wanted to go on a North American safari when he got home, so we went to Wyoming and SD, where we were lucky enough to fill all three of our tags in 2 days. It was a great welcome home to say the least... Here are his two bucks he got on the trip...

SD goat
PA021029.jpg

Wyoming goat
PA011009.jpg

I definately learn something every trip I go on, I wouldn't say I have too much figured out, but do find that the harder we work the luckier we get!