Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

First Lite Merino wool

pointingdogsrule

So I am watching Meateater to night and he is advertising "First Lite" clothing...Merino wool. I have little experience with Merino wool and would like some input. Worth the $? Really that much warmer and does it keep a person dry?

Thanks in advance.

good luck to all
the dog

Merino trumps all synthetics IMO. I've worn it in sub zero temps to well over 100 degrees. I've sweated and hunted in it for days on end and it won't stink. I can put on a synthetic and wear it for half a day and it gets funky.

Good merino is worth every penny. I have stuff from Icebreaker, KUIU, First Lite, and Ibex....all have been great.

Merino trumps all synthetics IMO. I've worn it in sub zero temps to well over 100 degrees. I've sweated and hunted in it for days on end and it won't stink. I can put on a synthetic and wear it for half a day and it gets funky.

Good merino is worth every penny. I have stuff from Icebreaker, KUIU, First Lite, and Ibex....all have been great.

^^^ this.

I have Smartwool and core4. Worth every penny.

Yep, my experience has been the exact same as everyone else. Friend of mine works for F.L. and has been on a couple episodes of Meat Eater, legit company with a great product

Anyone tired of smelly poly shirts after a day should try merino. As a test hike 2 miles in poly socks and 2 miles in merino socks then hold them to your nose at the end of the day.

Minus 33 is another I like, save 50% buying standard earth tones instead of camo.

First Lite is awesome. Wore it for a whole week on our elk hunt last fall. Didn't stink a bit after the week. Kept us very warm. I couldn't imagine wearing anything other than merino wool now.

Worth it!
I use Minus 33, Kuiu, and First Lite. They are all pretty much same quality.

I have both First Lite and Kuiu and LOVE them both. Extremely light and very high quality. Worth every penny!