Copper bullet performance

nontyp

I recently shot an elk with a 180 grain barnes ttsx. The bullet obviously did enough damage to kill the animal, but i was really surprised it didn’t pass through. I ended up leaving him overnight because the blood trail was weak. Otherwise i would have dug around to see what exactly happened. What have others experiences been? I’m pretty new to rifle hunting, but have heard nothing but good things about the ttsx bullets. the bullet did not hit the shoulder blade or the leg bones on either side. this was a 340 yard shot with a .300 win mag.

Attachments

• 52E8CE2F-96FC-4533-B1CA-B5277504F4C7.jpeg
    52E8CE2F-96FC-4533-B1CA-B5277504F4C7.jpeg
    613.9 KB · Views: 74
I shot a mule deer in the neck about 8 inches from the skull this year and found the bullet around just above the the shoulders. Buck was totally broadside... 🤷‍♂️

~100 yards, 120 etip, .264 win mag.

It’s not unusual at all for a Barnes to lodge underneath the offside hide. Since they expand/mushroom so much, there is a lot of frontal surface area that stops the bullet from punching through the elastic hide.

Gee, sounds a lot like the performance you get with a Berger VLD, that so many complain doesn't give an exit wound. :unsure:

Dead is dead. There's no variation of dead.
The bullet just spent all of it's energy inside the animal, instead of the tree 50 yards behind it.

Gee, sounds a lot like the performance you get with a Berger VLD, that so many complain doesn't give an exit wound. :unsure:

Dead is dead. There's no variation of dead.
The bullet just spent all of it's energy inside the animal, instead of the tree 50 yards behind it.
Well he did run over 500 yards in thick brush. Without snow it would’ve been a very difficult track job. Not exactly sure where the bullet went. entrance only and that was it. didn’t find anywhere that the bullet lodged.