Coming Full Circle

WIbiggame

This is my first time doing a “big” write up on a hunt. And it ended up being a lot longer than I anticipated. I was hesitant to do it but after having the privilege of spending a couple hours talking with a couple of the nicest guys ever and true OG’s of this site they convinced to type up a recap of our hunt. Little back story I have received a lot of help from a couple members on here 1 in particular who has become a great friend, so thank you to all for the insight and knowledge. I have been coming from WI to chase elk out west for 8years now and was finally able to seal the deal on a bull. So, without further ado here is the story of our epic 10-days of hunting adventure:

Day 1 September 7th:

After the 18hr drive from WI we arrived at our camp about 1hr ahead of schedule, so we tried to catch an hour of sleep in the truck before heading up the mountain. That was much easier said than done and no sleep was had. With the sun cracking over the mountains we met up with a great friend and his son and headed up the trail. After 18hrs in the truck it felt good to stretch our legs be breathing the mountain air. That “fun” feeling all left us when we realized that resident’s being “out of shape” can make an “in shape” easterner feel silly. These 2 are machines in the mountains and made us look bad. We got to the top of the ridge and saw a cow and a calf but no bulls. After letting out a few bugles and hearing nothing the decision was made to sit tight for a little bit and then head back the way we came. Football practice was at 1500 so the father son duo had to be back and get ready to head back home. Morning 1 came and went, in the afternoon my cousin and I ventured up a new trailhead to find no trucks parked at the end or along the way. With the wind howling and snow flying we decided that some rest and a little relaxation would be best served. So, an end to day 1, the real deal starts tomorrow.Day1.jpg

Day 2 September 8th: