Caribou Gear Tarp

Classic hunting rifles - American vs European

Recently I've thought I might want to start a small collection of vintage classic hunting rifles. They wouldn't be "safe queens" as I would intend to shoot/hunt with them on occasion.

I have (and am very familiar with) several modern hunting rifles, but I'm a history buff of sorts and can appreciate a vintage rifle - although I'm far from an expert being far too young to have experienced the original "heyday" of these rifles.

I have Kimber Montanas in 243 and 280 so I have my modern hunting rifles pretty well covered.

I'd like to tap into the "hive of experience" here regarding European vs American rifles that might fall into the category of classic hunting rifles. Would you focus on European rifles or American rifles of the period?

Looking at classic hunting rifles (let's say from the 1950's onward) - Husqvarna 1600, early Sakos, FN Mauser, Schultz and Larsen, etc. vs Winchester/Remington/Weatherby/etc.

What would your leaning be around general material quality, fit and finish, etc.?

Thanks in advance.
You may want to check out USOG on YouTube and or Patreon if you don’t already. He collects and reviews many vintage firearms; also current comparisons. They don’t makem like they used to . You will discover both the good and the bad. My K98k Mauser and 1956 Mannlicher are cherished gems. It’s interesting to examine them and see the grade of materials and craftsmanship. Good luck and enjoy your new passion.