MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Can Someone Explain Neck Shots To Me?

emrah1028

Having shot a whopping one deer in my entire life, I have little experience with actual kill shots. I always here of neck-shooting deer (or antelope, elk, what have you).

So what exactly is a neck shot? More to the point: where do you aim and why is it lethal? Mind you, I don't want to start a flame war about what type of shot is most ethical. I just what to know what exactly does the killing with a neck shot.

Is it severing a main artery? Breaking the spine? Also, is it the bullet itself that does the damage or the concussion from the secondary wound cavity (if such a thing really exists). And what about slower-moving bullets that don't cause said secondary cavity (again, if such a thing exists), but just pokes a clean hole through the animal?

Help me understand.

Emrah

Is it severing a main artery? Breaking the spine? Also, is it the bullet itself that does the damage or the concussion from the secondary wound cavity (if such a thing really exists).

Emrah

Yes:D
Also limits meat loss due to shooting at an angle that may hit one or both shoulders.
All situations are different and also on what type of animal. I have taken more than a few deer in the neck but those times were in situations with solid rests and very high confidence of hitting where I was aiming. Results will vary but I never lost an deer that was hit in the neck and never had one go out of sight.
I would only do it on close shots too, but that is just me because the chest is a lot bigger target.
If you plan on having a taxidermist do a shoulder mount you don't want to neck shot anything as a plan.

+1 to Schmalts.

My neck shots have been:
Head on at 20yds, (white patch) blacktail
Behind the ear on a wild pig at 120 yds
Blacktail at 50 yds.
A hail mary on a running away buck that I lead so the bullet hit the neck ( I would have been happy with a top of the shoulders impact)