Budget Spotting Scope Advice

ZackW

Hi everyone
I am looking at options and need some advice on picking up a new spotting scope. Let me start by stating that I am a full time college student and simply don't have the budget for a high-end scope. Additionally, I live in Wisconsin and only make it out west every couple of years. I currently carry a pair of Nikon 8x36's around my neck, and was thinking that a scope would give me a little more reach when out west for elk, mulies, etc. I do most of my hunting out of my backpack and hike in to get away from the crowds, so size and weight are a consideration.

So these are the scopes that I am considering:
Vortex diamondback 20-60x60 - $300 (military discount)
Celestron Regal M2 65ED 16-48x65 - $349 (military discount)
Vanguard Endeavor HD 15-45x65 - $379 (Amazon)
Bushnell Legend Ultra HD 15-45x60 - $392 (Amazon)

Those are the options that I'm looking at. I guess another option could be to skip the scope and get a set of 12x or 15x bino's that I could use with the tripod. Since I don't get out west that often, I'm usually not too picky with the bucks/bulls I shoot, and I'm not counting growth rings or counting points. I just want something that will get me more range than my 8x's. I welcome any questions, comments, or concerns.

I do. I usually keep my binos in an S4 lockdown harness, but when I get up on a glassing point, I put them on the tripod.

I've heard a lot of good things about Theron Optics, available from Predator Optics (Schmalts on this forum), though I have no personal experience with them. I have bought a couple items from Predator Optics and have had not been disappointed - good quick service and excellent pricing.. I am sure someone who has Theron will chime in.
If you only hunt out west every couple years, you may be better served upgrading binos as they will serve you well anywhere. A good pair of 10x42's may be more versatile. Just my 2cents.