Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Ollin Initial Review

Watts307

Hey Folks,

I decided to snag @Big Fin discount code and jump feet first on the new Ollin Digiscoping setup. I paid $166.48 which includes taxes and shipping.

My selection was the iPhone 14 Pro Case and the Vortex HD Spotting Scope Adapter. I have the Vortex Viper 15-45x65 Angled.

Be warn, this is 100% an initial review, it has been out of the box for less than 30 minutes. Currently in Wyoming with highways shutdown, snow drifts, below freezing temps and WIND! So goes to say, I will not be driving around with my window mount or hiking the mountains just yet to test. If this product or review is interesting to people. I can post more updates down the road in case anyone is skeptical.

I have no prior experience with Digiscoping, unless you count very carefully moving your phone camera around your optic lens to maybe snag half a glimpse through something in your spotting scope. Main reason for purchase is to be able to capture images on my phone using my optics, during hunting, scouting, traveling and drinking beer on the front porch glassing antelope and deer.

Picture 1 is how it was mailed. Nothing special.

Picture 2 is what is inside the box. Ollin I believe went to a new red design and packaging. It feels similar to a quality box a brand new iPhone comes in. Most will not keep it but nice for the price it didn't come in some plastic baggie.

Picture 3 and 4 are inside packaging. Items are secured and tucked away.

Picture 5 is the phone case. I was pleasantly surprised of the feel. It feels like a nicer Otter Box style outer case, its is a rubber/plastic mix. It does not feel cheap and gives access to all buttons and does not feel to awkward in the hand, the magnet piece is somewhat low profile and fits fine in hand and pocket. It is not one of the expensive Otter Box models that offers more protection but quality seems to be there.