Best rifle for under $2000

Blackbart

Hey guys newbie here I have never hunted with or shot a rifle much but I would like to start next season. I've been looking for a couple of months and like the Howa Randy carries as well as the Tikka T3.

If you could only buy one what would you buy for under $2K??

Thanks for the feedback

A Browning A-Bolt Stainless Stalker for $800 and spend the other $1,200 on something else.

Very hard question to answer. "Best" changes based on who you are and what you want that rifle for. To start, I would look at rifles in the $1500 and under category, and save AT LEAST $500 for a scope. Unless you already have a good scope. $500 gets you a quality scope, and that is about as little as I would budget for one plus $100 for rings/bases. Biggest question is what do you intend to hunt with it? What cartridge?

Best is super subjective. Howa, Winchester (current FN manufacture), Remington, Tikka, Savage (not Axis), Sako, Ruger (Hawkeye, I don't care for the American, just my opinion), CZ, Kimber, Browning, Weatherby and Montana Rifle Company all make solid rifles in that price range. You should go to a shop that has a variety, and shoulder every brand. Which one seems to fit the best? By that I mean, which one can you throw up to your shoulder and it just lines up with your eye. Easy, no thinking and the sights or barrel are pointing where you want. Then look at features. Do you like a light or weighty rifle? Detachable mag or not? Walnut, maple, or synthetic? There is no right answer here. All will work fine in all conditions. Stainless/synthetic is a little easier to care for. That said, walnut and blued steel has been pretty resilient for 150 years in all conditions.

My personal opinion is to look at the Sako 85. Sako rifles are just smooth and they shoot. I've always like them. That said, you may not like the stock on them. And that is a deal breaker.

Jeremy