Advice on first antelope hunt

HunterDan

I finally will have some time this year to make 2 trips out west and I plan to hunt antelope in Wyoming early October. I am currently sitting on 3 points. I cannot decide whether to use my 3 points or to save them and hunt a unit that takes 0 points and come back in a year or two when I can draw a better unit and have more experience. Being that this is my first time hunting antelope I would be happy shooting an average sized buck and possibly a doe. I would like to have enough public land to hunt and not have to constantly worry about other hunters the whole time. If I can satisfy these by hunting a 0 point unit then I think that is the way I would like to go. However if the experience would be that much better I don't mind using my points regular or special draw. I may only have 3 full days to hunt this year fyi. Please give me your thoughts.

I would wait to burn your points until you have more time to dedicate to the hunt. A doe in three days is fine, but you'll want to take your time looking over bucks when you burn points.

To have a shot at a unit kinda like you’re describing as a second choice you’re going to have to go special. Also, the odds on those types of units have been getting worse and worse over the last few years. Based on the results of the poll I put up, you’re odds will likely be worse than they were last year - likely under 50% for those units as a second choice. Also, most of these units open 10/1 or 10/15 and I’d want to be there 9/29 or 10/13 scouting. They will be crowded unless you hunt later in the season and mid week. The couple times I’ve hunted these units I’ve always worried about other hunters as there have been a lot - might just be me though.