Adding Solar panels and Backup batteries to my home

2rocky

Here in the land of Wildfires and power shutdowns, there is a program to underwrite the cost of Solar panels and batteries. Has anyone done something of the sort and what have your experiences been?

I'd like to be totally self sufficient for my electric energy needs, but i don't want to pay for it out of pocket.

A lot of these solar companies promise no out of pocket expense, and a big tax rebate. Have those of you with solar on your homes seen that?

At one time I was a project manager for a fairly large solar company. If I was to build a house knew I would absolutely do solar. It makes sense if you are going to stay in your house long-term to underwrite the cost of the equipment. You also need to see what your net meter regs are in your state.

It makes sense in some states. I switched to solar for my stock well.
I will do it for my home if I get ahead a bit. I have the power poles etc. paid off with local power,and the regs are changing here in NM when your hooked to both. It's the night & power outages here that make a duel system seem OK. I have not seen any reasonably priced battery back up systems yet. More folks around me are getting some sort of solar or looking.
The panels are way more efficient than just a couple years ago. I do not use near the power I used to either.

In Idaho I sell and install solar. The net metering program in Idaho makes it a no brainer. Its a very logical transition. I was paying $90/month to Idaho Power and now I pay $60/ to a solar finance company. As far as batteries go I still haven’t gotten any of those. I am currently grid tied. Our company projects that the cost of batteries will be a fraction of what they cost now in a few years. The current rebate on solar is 26% but you do have to have a tax liability as it is a tax credit.

When the companies talk about no out of pocket expenses they mean no money down.