PEAX Equipment

A little packraft-curious

Irrelevant

First off, and with much enthusiasm, this is not an endorsement of packrafts over shitty old canoes in any way shape for form. All SOCs are clearly still better, and cooler, but...

I might want to explore some areas that I can't readily pack any of my SOCs into. I also might want to do something crazy like @wllm1313 some day when I grow up. I'll probably never tackle anything @theat would. I may also be a little interesting in flying this glorified rubber inner tube somewhere remote and trying to kill something then not have to hike out, or at least hike less. With that being said:

What do I need to know about this endeavor? I'm currently planted solidly in the unknown unknowns. A total noob. I've backpacked a lot. I rafted a fair bit.
What do I want in a boat and why?
What don't I want and why?

I recognize there are multiple ways to skin a cat but I am looking for opinions. I will sort them out and weigh them appropriately once received.

Sounds like you are talking about actually pack rafting i.e. raft in your back pack as opposed to inflatable boating. Therefore I would steer away from 'duckies' / inflatable canoes as those are super heavy and I would be avoid cheap brands there are a couple companies that actually produce their boats in China at factories that do in fact produce pool toys.

Do you want 1 person or 2?

What kind of conditions, flat water or rapids?

The only advise I can offer is that our local rafting store recommends Kokopelli (however it's spelled) and Alpacka when I asked.

Sounds like you are talking about actually pack rafting i.e. raft in your back pack as opposed to inflatable boating. Therefore I would steer away from 'duckies' / inflatable canoes as those are super heavy and I would be avoid cheap brands there are a couple companies that actually produce their boats in China at factories that do in fact produce pool toys.

Do you want 1 person or 2?