9mm

Wapiti Warrior

Okay, so I am wanting to buy a decent but not expensive 9mm pistol. I have over 10 boxes of shells that were given to me. And instead of buying a different caliber pistol I might as well have one I have ammo for. It is just for home protection against 2 legged animals. And to shoot for fun. I am not a gun expert and see several on sale for $300 - $500, but just don't know much about what makes a pistol good? I do have a 357 mag revolver.
Thanks,
John

I bought 2 of the Taurus PT111 Millinium G2's in the past month and love them. They will run you around $200 but Taurus has a $50 mail in rebate going on till the end of the year. ( we had these on sale on Black Friday... sold all we had 37 in less than 2hrs.)

Should be able to find a good used Springfield XD on Gunbroker for at or under $400

I have a personal aversion to the grip safety and ergonomics of the XD's, but it is really personal preference. I don't think you can go wrong with an M&P (my favorite), Glock, or Sig (you can find these as certified pre-owned, rebuilt at the factory, in that 400ish range).

I was in the market for a 9mm last year and went to 2 gun shows before I could pull the trigger. My suggestion is to go to a shop or show and just hold some guns. The different models and of all the popular M&P, Glock, Sig, etc. did not fit my hand worth a damn. I went with a Walther CCP and love it. Also bought my wife a Ruger P22 for the same reasons above.

I was in the market for a 9mm last year and went to 2 gun shows before I could pull the trigger. My suggestion is to go to a shop or show and just hold some guns. The different models and of all the popular M&P, Glock, Sig, etc. did not fit my hand worth a damn. I went with a Walther CCP and love it. Also bought my wife a Ruger P22 for the same reasons above.