Wyoming elk

Ektoras

Hey guys first time applying for elk in wyoming, any suggestions unit wise bull or cow.

It all depends on the type of hunt that you want to do. If you want to go deep into grizzly country, you can find that. If you want to go into an area was very little bears you can find that as well.

Like @Big Fin says so often, it’s worth getting a gohunt.com membership!

also, I’m a Utah resident and I am somewhat new to Wyoming applications myself, but just one thing to give you a heads up on is that you could apply for a bull elk AND a cow/calf. The later will not use an points if you draw.

All depends what your goals are. Trophy potential? Terrain? Seclusion from other hunters? Likelihood to draw? Weapon type? Lots of public land? Success rate?

It all depends on the type of hunt that you want to do. If you want to go deep into grizzly country, you can find that. If you want to go into an area was very little bears you can find that as well.

also, I’m a Utah resident and I am somewhat new to Wyoming applications myself, but just one thing to give you a heads up on is that you could apply for a bull elk AND a cow/calf. The later will not use an points if you draw.
on the last part do u know if i apply for a cow its the same odds like a bull right , and its just lottery no preference points , i have the gohunt insider but im just confused in that one

I concur. One of the best investments you can make is goHunt membership.

on the last part do u know if i apply for a cow its the same odds like a bull right , and its just lottery no preference points , i have the gohunt insider but im just confused in that one
The type 6/7 cow/calf draw is totally separate from other elk tag draws. It is a lottery with no PP. With the WYG&F 2020 draw data, look at the number of NR 1st choice applicants and divide by # of tags available and this gives you your chance of drawing that tag (last year).