Wyoming Deer

Region H or holdout for Region G?

• Region H

Votes: 14 48.3%
  • Region G

Votes: 15 51.7%

• Total voters

HuntDon

I am currently a resident of eastern Idaho. I have hunted western Wyoming once in the past and had a blast. A Wyoming deer hunt is in the near future, within the next 2 years. If you were me, would you put in for Region H with 4 points or holdout and put in for Region G? Thanks guys.

I hunted Region G in 2019. It’s definitely a cool area to hunt. However, you are probably 4 years out (or more) from drawing it with 4 points. I don’t know if I will accumulate points to try to draw it again, or maybe try another unit/region. I definitely feel like going back a second time I would have a much better idea of areas to focus on.

Region H is excellent as well. If it can be drawn with significantly less points than G I’d say go for it!

I’m planning on a different region with fewer points but depending on how other draws go I could eventually end up with more deer PP than intended and would consider H at that point.

You may want to look at how much of Region H is wilderness and whether that would limit your options. I assume you plan to hunt without a guide or Wyoming resident.

Region H is excellent as well. If it can be drawn with significantly less points than G I’d say go for it!
That's probably what I will end up doing. Luckily, I am less than 2 hours away from all the Units in Region H so I will be able to get out and scout 3 or 4 times before season starts.

You may want to look at how much of Region H is wilderness and whether that would limit your options. I assume you plan to hunt without a guide or Wyoming resident.
Definitely some wilderness area but I would spend most of my scouting time in units with little or no wilderness area.

I’m planning on a different region with fewer points but depending on how other draws go I could eventually end up with more deer PP than intended and would consider H at that point.