Workouts?

bigdogg2278

What do you guys do for your workout to prep for elk hunting? Would you guys recommend a stairmaster over normal treadmill running?

I'm no expert, but I do both. 12 minutes on the stairmaster at level 8 works out to a mile, so the machine says. Then I do a mile on 15 incline, but I only set it for 3.5 to 3.8 mph. I don't like running. After this, I lift weights. One day legs and the other day upper body. The free weights still intimidate me, I stick to the machine. Just to break it up, or if I don't feel like lifting, I do an all cardio day. 2 miles an the stairmaster, 5 miles on the treadmill, and 10 miles on a stationary bike.

Don't know if this a good regimen or not. I did it religiously 6 day/wk for 10 weeks leading up to my hunt last year. I lost 25 pounds and kept up with my younger nephew, I'm 48 and he's 22. Well, I kept him in sight most of the time. I've managed to keep it up 5 days a week thruogh the winter and lost 5 more pounds.

Like I said, I'm no expert. Going every day sucks. At this point, I'm afraid of what might happen if I stopped going. I feel like I have invested so much to get to this point.

I would recommend stair master and treadmill. If you have access to any hills in your immediate area, I would also suggest climbing them. Even if it just a small hill and you have to climb it multiple times. There are muscles in your lower leg and foot that benefit from walking on uneven ground and it will definitely make climbing mountains more manageable.

Another important consideration is that when hunting you will have a pack on your back and if you have a successful hunt it will be a very heavy pack at that. Whether outdoors or in a gym, try to rig up a way to add extra weight beyond just your body. A backpack with books or a weight vest. Anything really.