Which states to hunt

maverick9465

I've only picked up hunting in the last three years and at 38 years old I realize I won't likely be able to hunt all my dream species. I am a Utah resident and can only apply for one Limited Entry and one Once-in-a-lifetime permit. I've opted to just accumulate points for LE bull elk and OIL Rocky Mountain Bighorn (my ultimate dream hunt). If I was to apply to hunt my other dream species, what states would you recommend I apply in for the following:

Moose
Bison
Desert of bighorn sheep

And the answer is...there is no reasonable expectation you will draw those even if you apply optimally and live to be 100.

My advice is to either start applying to Idaho for Shiras Moose and roll the dice on the $200ish annual ante then might draw around Year 15 which will mean the wait was around $5K for application/license/tag or...take $10K and go on a hunt in Alberta.

Bison is difficult to draw in AZ, WY, SD and MT in the public draw. You are not applying in UT for bison. AZ has a spring and fall hunt and on one of F&G field official will point to a bison and say, "shoot" so that may not be a great experience. WY can be under 50% harvest. Perhaps go hunt a cow bison or young bull with the Crow in Montana. I think those hunts are $6K or so. Sort of a "shoot" as well but lots of tasty meat.

Desert Bighorn is very difficult to draw. I have applied for almost 30 years for Desert and Rocky rams in all the Western states other than California and enter a few raffles yearly. I have drawn zero bighorn ram tags. I did draw a Rocky ewe tag in Colorado and was as challenging as a ram hunt per more seasoned observers where the hardest part of a bighorn hunt is getting the tag. I prefer mountain goat over bighorn but that is sour grapes as have drawn two billy tags. I would be the first person to say I prefer ram hunting if the Tag Gods thought I was less of an ass.