What to do with 13 Resident points in Montana

Luke_with_a_lab

Hey guys,

First I want to say how much I love this forum and appreciate the help and wisdom shared across it. I am a MT resident and have saved up 13 bonus points for elk. I accrued these applying in unit 380, however, I obviously have had no luck. I've decided to give up on the elk horns and go to a unit that would at least have a little bit better draw odds. The options I'm considering switching to are the archery 680/690, 680/690 rifle, 410 rifle, and 700 rifle. My brother had the 410 tag 12 years ago and he came away with a very nice bull, however, I have read that the quality of bulls has gone downhill in the last few years but that's simply hearsay.

My question would simply be for advice on how to most wisely spend these points. I'm not one of those guys who is foolish enough to expect a 390 + class bull. The thing I would like is a quality hunt that would put me in good numbers of elk and provide a decent chance at an above-average bull. So any advice on a unit to apply in or also a unit NOT TO APPLY IN would be greatly appreciated. I know some of you will probably say that there are good quality bulls in the 600 units however I just don't know too much about them. I did hunt 622 for deer last year for a week in the CMR and didnt see any elk. Feel free to PM if you would like. Thanks!!

Unit 410-15% chance to draw your tag
Unit 700-88% chance to draw

These were rifle odds

Point creep at its finest. I would stick with your plan. If you burn the points on an area you don't know well or can't find a place to hunt it will be a miserable feeling. You can put in for 410 with decent odds, but a lot of the elk are on private land by the time rifle season starts (honestly, usually 10 days after bow season starts). You are in a tough spot.

The breaks units are certainly a fun hunt and there are some good bulls, but the overall quality has gone way down over the last 10ish years.