Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Used wall tent

peterk1234

I have an opportunity to purchase a Montana canvas wall tent with a stove for about 600 bucks from a friend. I have not set it up yet, but we have it in the garage and plan to put it up in the next couple of days. It will be coming with us in a couple of weeks for a four day hunt.

I have never used one before. It is probably ten years old, maybe a bit older. What should I be looking for and considering if thinking of purchasing it? Thanks Pete

How big is it? Does it come with an internal frame? All canvas or hybrid with the nylon? That seems like a really good price if it's in good shape. As stated above, look for what might possibly be mold from putting away wet. Holes, tears that could rip further in high wind. Check the seams for splits or tears.

I know opinions vary, but after having owned and used wall tents for 30ish years, I don't use one without a tarp over the roof. It's never fun waking up in the middle of the night with water dripping on your sleeping bag, clothes, gear, or whatever else. I recommendation measuring the roof and buy a good tarp that covers most of the roof a few feet behind the stove jack. I even put a smaller one on the opposite side of the stove jack to cover up as much as I can.

We’ve got a 12’ x 16’ that is to my knowledge, 25+ years old. As dumb college kids we bought it for i think $600 between four of us. It has some holes/tears, but has always held up well. Doesn’t leak (knock on wood) and an over built by HS senior metals class kids, wood stove keeps it warm. I think for the price you’re in a good spot if it’s not a complete POS. We’ve figured that on late season hunts, the alternative of hotel and gas prices, it has paid for itself many times.