Trophy Cows and Soiled Undies

trb

This hunt brought to a close a very busy hunting and memorable 2021 season. It started off with a CO muzzleloader alpine buck hunt, which you can read about here. 20210911_154954.jpg

This was followed by heading up to WY where by brother made a cactus enriched 100 yd belly crawl on a nice pronghorn buck, and I filled my doe tag the next day.

IMG_6840.jpg
20210925_091609.jpg

Last edited:
This was followed by a few days tunneling through horrendous oak brush and simmering a rich cow tag soup in a CO otc unit.
20211016_164834.jpg

This brings us to 3rd season, where I played sherpa for my brother and his son, who were both successful in filling their respective bull and doe tags.
IMG_7070.jpg

Last edited:
Which brings us to 4th season...Thanksgiving week. As a teacher I had the whole week off, which I was pretty excited about. I've never had the flexibility to be able to be in a unit several days before an opener, and I would be doing so all by my lonesome, which was also much needed after a slightly stressful school year.

This unit takes a couple decades to draw a bull tag, and is notoriously steep, while providing some sporty opportunities to utterly destroy your truck accessing some of its more remote chunks of public. It is an area I know fairly well, having worked on a nearby fish hatchery in the area for 6 months or so when I was 18, waiting out week long snow drifts, reading Twain and Tolstoy, and generally trying to figure out what the hell I was going to do with my life.

I arrived in the unit Monday, before the Wednesday opener. The first evening was spent glassing a large riparian basin, which turned up a few dozen deer, but no elk. My strategy was to spend a morning or evening at each of my top 3 spots in descending order of horrible access roads before the opener. That night, I picked up and drove to spot 2, and parked in a sage brush basin right on the CO/UT border around 9 pm.