Caribou Gear Tarp

Sitka gear for Montana hunt

1whohunts

I am new to Montana, and I want to invest in Sitka clothing. Not sure which shirts or pants I need to buy? Any advice from people who have it and hunt in Montana would be great.

Don't limit yourself to just Sitka, Kyrptex, KUIU and the standard backpacking companies (Patgonia, Mountain Hardware, etc.) are good alternatives as well.

That said, much of it depends on what you want to hunt, but go with a standard layering methodology.

Base layer - merino wool or stinky synthetic
Insulation - down or primaloft
Outer - softshell type material with DWR finish that will handle light rain, wet brush and light snow.
Shell - waterproof layer for when it really starts to rain/snow also acts as a good wind blocker as well.

Have you checked out Sitka's website? They have a "system builder" that narrows down what gear is best suited in certain situations. For example, most of my hunting is done in the late season chasing elk at rolling to steep terrain. So, I'd choose the Coldfront jacket over the Ascent.

I've invested heavily in sitka and can't wait to try something different. I've had a lot of issues with stuff falling apart and it's always the most expensive out there. I'm with JRyoung on this one.

I agree with a few of the others here, don't limit yourself. My hunting buddy had a pair a sitka pants come unstitched 2 days into one of our hunts. Kinda disappointing considering the cost. I am sure plenty of hunters love the stuff and that is fine if it works for them. I hunt in a lot of "hiking type gear" which can be costly as well but sure does work well as far as performance goes. I did get a Badlands jacket and pants to try this fall, its not quite as expensive, they have a great warranty, and seems to be very well made. Guess I will be able to comment on how good or bad it is by next winter. Good luck!