Yeti GOBOX Collection

Shotgun barrel bulge.

Buckbrush

I pulled the franchi affinity 20 gage out of the gun cabinet yesterday. And noticed a bulge in the middle of the barrel. A perfect ring and the barrel flaring out towards the end. The choke tube looks okay it thread's in and out and the others go in with out a lot of play.. l was on a grouse hunt
I don't remember hearing anything odd but after hunting I was trying out some homemade buck shot loads. I was worried they would be over pressure. I shot about 4 of them checking to see if anything looked out of wack. Everything looked okay so I shot about 6 more and never checked again. I had the gun out once more after that and didn't remember seeing it. I don't know if a over pressured load would cause this or it had some sort of barrel blockage?
Never had this happen before but I'm pretty new to shotgun reloading. I've shot this load a few times and never had a problem. Was going to use it tomorrow on the opener of pheasant not now I guess.

Yeah I'm getting a new barrel for it. I was wondering if a overpressure load would do this or damage the receiver first if it was over pressure. What I'm trying to figure out is how did it happen.

Ever shot steel-shot shells?
If they were very old they will rust together and make a "Steel" slug.
I have an old marlin "Goose" gun, it has a very large ring from the old-style steel shotshells.
I still shoot it and it makes a Fine 36" barreled slug gun, 3-shot clip feed bolt.

Yeah I'm getting a new barrel for it. I was wondering if a overpressure load would do this or damage the receiver first if it was over pressure. What I'm trying to figure out is how did it happen.

It sounds like it was probably your reloads not firing off right. Could have been a wad or something that got sideways, etc. Maybe too many balls in the buckshot load? Tough to say without seeing it, the shells from your reloads or being there.

Ever shot steel-shot shells?