SB 287

MThuntr

From Montana Wildlife Federation:

SB 287 undermines the state’s ability to manage wildlife as a public resource. It would fundamentally alter the financial capacity of the Montana Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Department while eroding the public support for conservation and wildlife management in Montana. In addition, it opens the door to the return of game farming and the potential for privatizing our public wildlife.

I'm not good at interpreting the legalese so maybe some can help read between the lines in the bill

From Montana Wildlife Federation:

SB 287 undermines the state’s ability to manage wildlife as a public resource. It would fundamentally alter the financial capacity of the Montana Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Department while eroding the public support for conservation and wildlife management in Montana. In addition, it opens the door to the return of game farming and the potential for privatizing our public wildlife.

I'm not good at interpreting the legalese so maybe some can help read between the lines in the bill
I can't seem to piece this one together. Can @Ben Lamb help us out here??

That’s largely above my pay grade, but “takings” claims are routinely used to attack or claim public trust resources on private land.

From what I read this bill expands the scope of what can be considered property subject to takings compensation and provides a more direct method of redress (lowers the bar to litigation) through An award of attorneys fees. I’ll let
Others speculate on what licenses, authorizations, and intangible
Rights are actually at issue here. But these things do not arise in a vacuum.

I can't seem to piece this one together. Can @Ben Lamb help us out here??