Reloading Question

Wolf4Skin

I am just getting into reloading and shot my first 60 reloaded rounds yesterday.They shot well but I just have a few questions before I load my next batch.

1. Do you have to size the ENTIRE neck of the case , or can you just size the first 1/8th of an inch or so??

2.My bullet diameter (22-250 or .224) is so much bigger than the case neck that copper shavings result and gather at the top of the case neck. Is this OK or normal?? My brass have only been reloaded once , so are on there third firing.

3.If I am only sizing the neck, why do I need lube all up and down the casing???

Thanks in advance.

Chris, I'll try to answer your questions and provide a little explanation about why I answered them as I did.

1. When neck sizing only, I've found it best to size the entire lenght of the neck. If you size on a portion of the neck, it's too easy for the bullet to be knocked out of line with the case neck. This can cause problems chambering and with accuracy.

2. The copper shavings that you are seeing at the top of the neck are threre because you didn't chamfer the case mouth before you loaded. That means you probably didn't trim the cases either.

You have to use a chamfer tool to remove the burrs that are left around the mouth of the case from the operation that cuts the case to length. It's also best for the best consistancy from your loads to trim the cases so that they are all the same length. Use a pair of calipers and measure all of the cases after the necks are sized. Use the shortest one for a guide and trim all of the cases to the same length. Make sure you record what that length is so that if you add more cases to that lot, you can trim them the same. Is this absolutely necessary? No. Will it improve accuracy,, probably.

Chamfering the case mouth will stop the copper burrs you are seeing though.