Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Question on Case Trimmers

Rzrbk

I'm just getting into reloading and plan on loading about 5 different calibers (.280, 6.5 Creedmoor, British 303, 5.56, .223).

For trimming cases it appears you can go two routes; 1) a universal type trimmer such as the RCBS TRIM PRO® -2 MANUAL CASE TRIMMER KIT, or 2) get individual trimmer dies for each caliber.

So, I'm hoping to get some advice on which route to take.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

The Lee case trimmer with pilots for each cartridge is cheap and effective.
For high volume trimming I recommend the Franford Arsenal trimmer that mounts in a drill and is adjustable to any length you want for any cartridge. It registers off the case shoulder instead of the case head.
Midway carries both. May be cheaper to go with the Frankford Arsenal instead of buying multiple pilots.
Both models can be used with a drill to speed up the process.

I used to use piloted trimmers but won't do that again, I'm not putting anything into the case neck. I use the wft trimmer. Setting depth is a pain but that's about all that's wrong with it.

I use the Sinclair/L E Wilson trimmer. It sizes off from the body of the brass. You have to buy a shell holder for each cartridge. It’s not the most efficient but it is one of the most consistent.

I used to use piloted trimmers but won't do that again, I'm not putting anything into the case neck. I use the wft trimmer. Setting depth is a pain but that's about all that's wrong with it.
I just use an under size pilot. Doesn't seem to matter much.

I’m also using WFT.

OP there is a 3rd option…for case designs that don’t grow dramatically, send off every 2-4 firings and have it done by a service. There are guys that offer trimming, annealing, etc. by the batch via mail. Depends if you have more money or time. I’m often short on both so I just complain about how much I hate trimming 🙂.