Caribou Gear

Pronghorn strategy

mdunc8

I'm going to start building up some points for a Wyoming hunt. For someone who has only shot one little 12" buck, is there really that much of difference between a unit that takes 4-5 points to draw compared to one that you can draw every other year? I'll keep hunting Montana every year so I'll be either way, but I want to treat myself to a quality hunt in the next few years. I don't want units from anyone. Just a general feeling to help me decide what to do with points.

There are some excellent pronghorn hunters on this site, and I really look forward to their responses on this topic... My limited experience is that easier to draw units tend to have more crowding, or less public land, or both.

I'm no expert but if you are willing to spend the $ for the special draw you can hunt units that typically require 2-3 points just about every year. I have also noticed that there are still some good hunts to be had with leftover tags. One of the biggest antelope I saw all last season was in unit 22 on public land which had lots of leftover tags. The public land was spread out and you had to read the map closely or have a gps but it was there. My 2 cents.

There are some excellent pronghorn hunters on this site, and I really look forward to their responses on this topic... My limited experience is that easier to draw units tend to have more crowding, or less public land, or both.

That's the impression I've gotten too. I think I already know the answer to my question, but just wanted a little reinforcement. The area I hunt in Montana has VERY limited public land for antelope. When I do get down to Wyoming, I'll probably focus on areas with large chunks of state and BLM. I don't mind driving around and spotting, but it doesn't feel as much of a hunt when I'm only hunting a section or two of land at a time.