OIL options

Oneye

So, my budget only allows for me to put in for so much, and I'd just like some opinions while I'm still young enough to start building them. I currently put in for Moose as my OIL in Utah (which may never happen at the rate it's going). I also currently apply for deer/elk/pronghorn in Colorado and Wyoming, so in Colorado I now will be purchasing their small game license every year. I'm just wondering what OIL species outside of Utah you would recommend starting to build points for. I don't really care if it's Rocky or Desert Bighorn or Mountain Goat, I'm just looking for a realistic chance to build points and draw the given species in a different state, as what my best options might be. Appreciate any input.

People will say its too late to start if you have 0 points. This is my first year and I'm applying for points in all states except Idaho and New Mexico. I figure it cost somewhere around $1500 a year so I cut back on things. I start to pack a lunch instead of eating out and put limits on how often the wife and I eat out for dinners. I'll eat cold bologna sandwiches everyday if it means I can apply in more states for more species.

Colorado points for MSG will cost you $300 per year combined. You need 3 points to have a chance which means you will have $900 invested to have a chance. The reality is you will likely never draw in CO. The $100/year fee in CO will likely cause a lot of people stop applying, so the odds will increase. I don’t think there is anywhere in the lower 48 where you are guaranteed to draw MSG in even 30-40 years, but you can’t win if you don’t play.

Idaho has some of the best moose opportunities and there are some random draws out there that are decent odds (or at least give you a chance). NM is a great example.