Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Nm area 15 elk muzzy

spikebuck1

Hey guys,was lucky enough to draw bull tag for third muzzy season.Nov 18.area 15.I'm new to elk hunting,I'm a public land deer hunter from Illinois. I know don't laugh lol!My nephew is retired military that is a resident but has only hunted a few times.Does anyone have any insight into this area?I'm looking at maps and Google earth but its kinda overwhelming.I'm not asking for anyone's hot spot.maybe just some thoughts of where to start scouting / glassing when we get there,terrain wise.any help is greatly appreciated..thanks

It's really hard to want to help somebody who found out they drew a tag in about April and has waited until now to register on a forum where there's a lot of expertise and a bunch of helpful people and have their first post on said forum asking for information on where to find elk in one of the best elk units in the country.

Having said that, it's a great unit in some beautiful country, and you should be able to find a bull with a little bit of diligence. Look at Randy's youtube video on scouting for elk via google earth. He uses unit 16A as an example. That's not too far away. Similar habitat, elevation, etc. Similar time of year. Same principles apply.
Consider signing up for University of Elk Hunting. You'll get the experts' thoughts on where to start scouting, etc. without the backlash. Consider getting OnX maps or using another resource to figure out where burns are if there have been any recent ones in the area and to keep you out of trouble with respect to private land.

I find this layer useful to find and mark water sources in google earth:
http://www.earthpoint.us/TopoMap.aspx

Best of luck to you!