New Traditions NitroFire muzzleloader

GlockZ

I guess Traditions teamed up with Federal and Hodgdon and came out with a rather interesting new muzzle loader. There is something called a fire stick that is a self contained plastic container that’s holds the powder charge and is inserted into the breech, thereby eliminating the breech plug, the sabot is loaded the traditional way, from the muzzle. While I’m not an expert on the regulations in different states concerning muzzle loaders. This does seem interesting. Wonder what the cost of those “fire sticks “ is. Can’t be cheap. Thoughts?

Don't see this lasting...uses proprietary powder system using powder specifically made for this 1 rifle. No numbers on the cost per "stick" so who know how much they'll cost. A Traditions rifle retailing for $499-699 seems a bit lofty.

What happens when Federal and Hodgdon decide to change their mind about producing these things when nobody buys these precharged sticks...don't get stuck with a rifle you can't use.

We've got a gunsmith that does this with 45-70 cases with smokeless powder. Then like was stated load a bullet through the muzzle. Interesting concept to say the least.

Saw it this morning. Not really interested myself. Don't like price and honestly doesn't seem much faster then I could load a preloaded charge anyway anyway. Open breech, insert tampon, close go back to end and stuff bullet. Think they think leaving one loaded over night is a problem.

Does seem to take one more thing away from muzzle loading. Of course I say that shooting a scoped inline and to make it worse I've been researching smokeless muzzys lately.

$26.95 for 10 firesticks I believe

So just off the top of my head, that’s around $3 a shot plus the sabot. Seems expensive. I’m hoping there’s some advantages to this new system.

Interesting idea,

Premeasured and sealed loose powder would be more versatile and have basically the same affect.

I never knew a breech plug was a problem