New Ice Auger; What should I be looking at?

MinnesotaHunter

I should start with the fact that I am not a hardcore ice angler, but have been wanting to get more into it the last few years. For an auger, I still just have a hand auger I have had since high school, and would like to get something powered. I like a 10" hole, and have been looking at the Ion Electric Augers, but I am not an expert and would be interested in hearing some people's experiences.

Fire away....

Ion are great. My main fishing partner has the 8" version and it works great.

I bought a 10" Eskimo Mako right when Ion was starting to come out with their electric augers. I would say the main difference is no need for the "pull throttle dance" of getting the gas engine started in negative degree weather. That being said, I've never not had my auger start, it's mostly just super convenient with the electronic augers to just push a button and drill. Personally, if we are punching alot of holes, I like the gas engine better, seems to cut through the ice a bit quicker.

You cant go wrong with the Ion though.

I am a kdrill guy but i think biggest they make is 8.5". I just drill clovers when fishing big lakers. I drill my 3 holes faster than my buddy with the standard gas 10" drills 1 and mine never spills fuel on me.

I have had an 8" Ion for three seasons and really like it. No complaints except for replacement batteries are not cheap. When I need another auger I will likely look at the kdrill or similar rout3, but I do not need a 10" hole.

Get the Ion with reverse. when you are done drilling, you reverse it and all the slush goes down the hole. No smoke in the house if you have a shelter of some kind too. electric or Kdrill is the way to go. although you can buy a used gas auger for really cheap as most people are moving away from them.