Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Nevada FCFS Virtually Dead for NRs

Now I see on the application page you can be in line as an ALTERNATE....

As a resident I'm obviously stoked about this. I think it's unfair that we have same blackout periods as NR's for elk so it kind of balances fairness out a little. What I don't get is why they won't let people accumulate points DURING the blackout period...or at least a few years of the 7 year period. Anyone know why this is?

As a resident I'm obviously stoked about this. I think it's unfair that we have same blackout periods as NR's for elk so it kind of balances fairness out a little. What I don't get is why they won't let people accumulate points DURING the blackout period...or at least a few years of the 7 year period. Anyone know why this is?

If you pitch it to them as a way to make additional revenue, they'll probably go for it. ;)

QQ

I would go to say that it’s probably to create other opportunities for the other individuals on top of being out of the draw X amount of years. If can purchase points while waiting you would drop into the draw like you never skipped a beat.

I think that is the whole point of the "waiting period". Why should anyone have a head start with points?

I think that is the whole point of the "waiting period". Why should anyone have a head start with points?
Because not being able to hunt in a state you're a resident in for 7 years is already an unjust punishment. Nevada has tons of elk. Residents shouldn't have to wait 10+ years between each bull elk hunt opportunities. However, I'll flip my take on it and say that I constantly see bull elk tags pop up on FCFS so not having points probably won't be an issue if things stay the same.