Yeti GOBOX Collection

Minnesota black bear recommendations

sep0667

Hello,

I am really wanting to do a black bear hunt. I've been putting this off for a few years now and want to go asap, hopefully in 2024. I'm thinking MN because its close, I'm from Iowa. I know parts of MN require preference points, which I have none unfortunately. But, some of the state is in a no-quota zone and doesn't require any points. I am hoping that I could get some recommendations for an outfitter in a no quota zone so that I could hopefully go next year. Or if a no quota hunt is a bad idea and I should build some points let me know, I dont want to waste my time & money.

Little bit of background, I have never bear hunted before. I deer and turkey hunt and did a WY pronghorn hunt, I've had success in all those.

Ideally I would like hunt with a bow, but open to firearm as well.

I'm hoping to go where there is good a good harvest track record and high opportunity/success rate, but maybe that is not such a thing in a no-quota area?

I'm not after the biggest bear by any means, I'd be super happy with a modest/average sized bear. I will say sometimes I see harvest pics and it nearly looks like someone shot a cub, I wouldnt want to shoot one like that and probably wouldn't even if it was the last day. I guess to try and relate to what Im saying is if I was deer hunting I wouldn't want to shoot a yearling or a 1.5 year old, but 2.5/3.5+ I'd be happy, if that makes sense.

I've explored online and searched through several outfitters sites. What I'm looking for is some good recommendations if anyone has any. Or a place to let me know to steer clear of. I really appreciate any feedback!

Go to Canada first and start building points in MN. Thoroughly check out guides in MN there's been some giving low quality hunts.

I don't have any help but I should hopefully get my mn tag in 24! Super excited! If I get any info I'll relay it I won't be using a guide but will relay what I can.