Learning to be an advocate. Tracking bills in the IDAHO Senate and Legislature.

44hunter45

@Backofbeyond and anyone else who is interested. I'm still learning this stuff. I have a whole new respect for @Ben Lamb and other HTers who have spent years in this arena.

While I learned that while you are micro-focused on one bill, other important bills can blow right by you.While I was focused on lighted nocks, a raft of other bills were happening which I should have been watching. For example, Trident holdings had gotten a bill submitted which would alter the makeup of the IDL board in favor of developers. It was withdrawn, so I didn't completely fail.

I realize that as informed, erudite, and eloquent as I thought I was in my emails to Rep Troy of Moscow, she was likely laughing up her sleeve at all the stuff I did not see.

Good sources for Conservation and Public Lands topics are The Idaho Conservation League, BHA, Idaho Wildlife Federation, and (believe it or not) The IDAHO Freedom Foundation website. This is McGeachin central, but they are informative.

Here is the IWF bill tracking page:

If you are interested, you can build your own bill watch list here. The tool allow you to build a list searching by Bill Number or subject. You will have to go through the two-step verification to create an account at Idaho.gov. I found I already had one from doing IDFG stuff.

@Ben Lamb, @Big Fin - Do you know of a source of training for Idahoans similar to the things Jessi Johnson talked about on the HT Podcast?

I haven't listened to the podcast with Jessi, so I'm not sure what she cited?