Jarbidge Hunting Area 071-079

Allenchrisx1

Hello fellow hunters, I’m new to the Jarbidge area and I drew a tag for 2023 and I, super excited. But… I know nothing about the area. I just wanted to see if anyone can point me in the right direction or give me some advice on where to start. I’ve heard that the roads up there aren’t that great but we do have a 27 foot travel trailer that we plan on taking. Any help or advice would greatly appreciated. Have a great day everyone!

I just went up there about a week ago for the first time for a brief scouting trip.

I tried driving up the dirt road from the south which is what google maps recommended when I started from Elko, NV, but the road was closed just after it entered the wilderness area going up from the south

so the next day I went from the north from Idaho, road had recently been graded from where the pavement ends all the way to the tiny town of Jarbidge.

the road had a creek flowing over it and was closed just south of Jarbidge.

a pickup truck can make it from the north in good weather no problem, there was a small hotel advertising an RV park in Jarbidge so it would appear to be possible to get an RV down there.

I don’t think you should bother trying to bring a trailer up from the south, just take the road from Idaho.

the vegetation is thick And the mountain slopes steep, I got pretty winded doing a trek up to the top of a ridge near the town, and I’m an avid hiker.

I didn’t see any game animals during the brief time I was there, but I saw a lot of what I believe to be elk tracks and droppings

Attachments

• IMG_0903.jpeg
    IMG_0903.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 36
  • IMG_0929.jpeg
    IMG_0929.jpeg
    4.8 MB · Views: 34
  • IMG_0930.jpeg
    IMG_0930.jpeg
    5 MB · Views: 31
  • IMG_0928.jpeg
    IMG_0928.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 33
  • IMG_0926.jpeg
    IMG_0926.jpeg
    4.5 MB · Views: 31
  • IMG_0924.jpeg
    IMG_0924.jpeg
    5 MB · Views: 29
  • IMG_0923.jpeg
    IMG_0923.jpeg