Interview tips

Nut

I have a BIG time interview next Thursday, It is for a International company with ties in 70 countries. So being a lowly machinist I never had a interview for a place this size.

So I am brainstorming and thinking through everything I should have with me to be prepared. They sent me plenty of information to go through and fill out which I am doing. I also am calling a couple of my references to see if I can get letters of recommendation in time. I also am going to have a list of questions to study and would like to see if there is some I might need.

I'd like for some input from the wiser ones of going for a big time interview.

NUT...be relaxed...do a little research on the company in general and what they are doing in your area too. Also, prepare yourself/think in terms of what you can do for them/bring to them and in terms of revenue/productivity. Always toot your own horn in a positve...but not arrogant way, be yourself...then ask for the job. Maybe summarize when time is right and say something like..."Well...I feel very good about XXXX company, what we have discussed and what I can contribute to the company...I'm ready, willing and able to start...have I answered all your questions?...is there anthing lingering that would keep us from putting the opportunity together right now?"...or something along those lines.
Hope this helps...I'm looking for a sales/marketing job as we speak...got downsized...and it hurts...lol
Keep you chin up...be positive, and land that position!
Remember: only sweat the big stuff...and nothings really that big!
Good luck!

Never, ever talk bad about a past company, or any negative talk about anything. No bitching of any kind. Just talk all positive things, be more pleasant than normal. Your there to sell yourself, not bring yourself up by lowering others. Do not swear. Don't offer up any more info than they ask on a question, or go too long on any question. Give them what they want to hear, nothing more.