Hunting with Horses

Buckeye

Any tips and or tactics for hunting with horses? Benefits (other than packing out :) )? Starting to consider it now that im in the West and i have a background with horses but not hunting with them.

I am a Rookie at it also, but what I do is study maps and Aerials to see where the Parks are on the trail. When approaching these, get off and check them out on foot. Then procede to the Meadows or Saddles you wish to hunt. The Mule or Horse just gets ya there. John

I have hunted off of a horse in Wyoming and Colorado and also New Mexico,,horses dont seem to bother the elk,,had bulls bugle right at em like they were elk,,elk tend to be used to horses because of the ranchers that graze public ground,,they see horses all of the summer and early autumn,,we rode right into a herd of elk last fall and they didnt mind until the hunter got off his horse

My father in law and i hunt with horses every year we can get further in than most,not kill ourselfs packing the elk out, cover more ground and the elk think they are odd looking elk. So far we have filled our tags every year. But its a lot of work also taking care of theses knot heads while in the woods they are the first to eat every morning and night and never know when one might decide to have a stupid attack. Its a lot of gear to take care of seeings how it aint cheap u want to keep it in good shape so it last and also doesnt hurt the hose by rubbing them raw and such.Unless you feel like putting up large area of electric fence u carry alot of hay. Although we see guys just turn them loose and next thing you know they are at our camp asking did u see my horse or could i use ur horse to go find mine. But we still luv using horses and the elk dont mind either 3 out of 4 times it actually helps like i said elk think they are a dumb looking elk.