Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

How much to spend on a new rifle?

FairWeather

I’ll start out with disclosing I am new to hunting, and newly returned to shooting.

I’m considering upgrading my deer rifle (LH 308 Savage 11 trophy hunter w/Nikon prostaff, they were a package deal) either after this season, or the year after, and I’m trying get something of the lay of the land on how to interpret quality and marginal return for the money.

I’m a bassist, and it kinda seems like rifles may fall into similar price ranges as basses do. What I’m picking up looking around is rifles kinda shake out like

Intro/Starter = <$750
- Lack some features or lower quality, but will get the job done.

Intermediate = $750-$2000
- Good enough for most anything

Pro level =$2000-infinity
- Marginal return on investment in terms of measurable improvement down range the higher up you go, but they sure are pretty.

Is this a fair approximation of the break out?

My rifle firmly falls in the starter category, but it seems to shoot OK. My groups aren’t great, but that’s more on me.

My question then becomes: what features should I look for in this intermediate category to indicate better bang for your buck?

And lastly, what suggestions do you all have for a 308 that is either left handed or ambidextrous?

I know I should also (primarily?) upgrade my optic as well, but that’s a discussion for a different subforum.

Last edited:
If you're looking at a deer rifle and want factory loaded ammo, I'd suggest looking at 6.5 Creedmoor, 7-08 and 308. How a rifle fits you and what grabs your your eye is important so I'd look at a bunch of them whenever you're by a gun dealer. Seems like Browning has got several nice options, also Christensen Arms, Bergara, etc. If you have a chance to look at one, Howa has a Randy Newberg model with a Leupold scope that seems like it would be a solid choice. That rifle might be an exclusive with Sportsman's Warehouse, if you are near any of their stores.