Homemade Smoker

mr_steve

Well I have decided to begin learning the art of smoking meat. I have zero experience. I do have a few friends that can show me the ropes but want to first make a smoker. Do you guys have suggestions? Any links/plans that you would recommend? I have a freezer with meat ready to smoke just need the smoker.

I lucked out and found an Alto Sham cook and hold oven for dirt cheap and then added a home built smoke generator to it. It is like the Cadillac of smokers but I would think other ovens would be a great starting point of you wanted to go that route. Why did I go with the oven and generator?? easy painless temp control. Unless I was going to build something real large I would not use anything but electric for this reason. You can ruin a large batch of meat by going too hot and it will not take that long.

Below are some pictures of a smoker I made several years ago. I used a Brinkman gas smoker for years and it worked well, but when I moved to Alaska I wanted something with a much larger capacity so I could do a bunch of salmon at once. I use to have the plans for this one but can't find them at the moment, but it is fairly straight forward to build. I used T&G pine. The heat source pictured is not what I use, I ended up using the old heating element out of my Brinkman (still works great). This smoker will fit about 24 sockeye salmon fillets at once, I'm guessing most folks don't need one quite that big. Also works well for drying morel mushrooms :)

Well I decided to go the Ugly Drum Smoker (UDS) route. Lot of information online and it seemed to have excellent results. Like a few of the guys said and electric heating element can be easier to control but this was easiest to make. Next I am buying a Traeger if I get real serious.

I started out by buying a drum from a local company for $25.

IMG_1007_zps9af0d389.jpg