Hearing Protection for Hunting

rjthehunter

What is everyone using for hearing protection? Looking for advice on some in ear amplifiers/plugs like the Walker silencer earbuds. I've heard mixed reviews on them. Does anyone have experience with them? Or another brand I should look at?

I tried walkers game ears (2 versions) and didnt care for them. I didnt think they lived up to the hype and they were huge and uncomfortable.

Now I wear some pretty high tech hearing aids thanks to my hearing loss and tinnitus. Mine are set to cancel out the report of a fire arm but I rarely hunt with firearms any more so I haven't put that feature to the test.

I have no experience with the amplifiers other than over-the-ear muffs we use in non-hunting scenarios so I can't be any help there. The price combined with the mixed reviews they receive have kept me away from in-ear versions, plus none are offered that fit my daughter yet.

For passive hearing protection in the field, we wear these:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SNLRXTY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
They're inexpensive, lightweight, fast and silent to put on, and never fall off or get tangled, etc.

I know that doesn't help answer your original question, but perhaps something to pick up for use in the meantime.

I am using the Silencers. All of one day, yesterday, so far. I have been PMing with noharleyyet about them, so, in the interest of economy of one finger typing, I'll copy my notes here.