Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Front strut replacement

Irrelevant

So after decades of paying others to work on my vehicles I've started dabbling in diy. I started with all the fluids, and have moved onto alternators and most recently the rear leaf springs and shocks. I'd like to replace the front shocks on my truck, but most of the YT vids talk about needing to do an alignment at the same time, that isn't in my diy wheel house. Is it still valuable to replace the struts then have Schwab do an alignment check? Fill me in on the details, I'm a total noob.

Yes, as above get the alignment done. Still going to save quite a bit between labor and what they upcharge on parts.
Don't use an impact on the top mount bolt and nuts for struts.

As long as you aren’t taking apart or adjusting the tie rods the alignment should be fine. Take it in for piece of mind if you want after replacing the struts. Get a shop manual for your vehicle or look up torque specs. If yours are the coil over you’ll need a spring compressor to replace the struts. Yes, you’ll save a bunch of money doing it yourself and having the shop do the alignment.

Always do it yourself! I've saved 1,000s of dollars that way.

Just bring it in for an alignment soon after. As long as it's not WAY out of alignment, it'll be fine to drive to a shop. Once you really get further into DIY mechanics, you'll even know how to adjust it yourself to get it close if it is way off. Still always take it in for an alignment though.

I agree with the above. Review youtube videos and understand what tools you might need. I'd also recommend going to 1A Auto's website. They sell parts, and I sometimes buy parts from them, but they also have really well done videos on how to do the work.