Experience hunting with a recurve

TxRcrvHunter

I am new to archery and was immediately drawn to using a recurve bow to the point where I am eager to get to the range and practice as often as I can.

I would like to hear from experienced hunters who use a recurve and hear their experiences, lessons learned and any tips they can impart!

I would say to start slow and work your way back to a decent range. I mean shooting at only a couple yards just so you can build your form. I have been doing that for the last several months and it has really helped my accuracy. Also I did the whole pick a spot on a block target and it worked well, but once I got a 3-d target a lot of things really fell into place. Clay Hayes on YouTube has some great videos on aiming and form and just general trad archery. Also make sure you get good arrows. 3 rivers archery sells test kits with different spines arrows so you can find the right one to use. They also sell a field point test kit that has different weight points. If you start shooting like shit, walk away for a little bit and come back to it. Have fun in the rabbit hole you just jumped in.
Edit: there is a lot of contrasting views within trad bows, do what you want, if you want to put a pin site on it try it, but I can tell you it does nothing if you have bad form. If you want to use carbon arrows use carbon, if it’s cedar you want go at it. All I’m saying is don’t get bothered if someone wants to look down their nose at the way you're doing things.

Last edited: